Mini Corn Dog Muffins

7 Aug

Heather Jurczyk from HeCooksSheCooks.com  shares her recipes with Shinddigz

Heather Jurczyk from HeCooksSheCooks.com shares her recipes with Shindigz

One of the best things about summertime is the abundance of opportunities to eat carnival food. I can not pass up an opportunity of get my hands on funnel cake, Navajo tacos, deep friend whatever is the thing this season and the good ole’ fashion corn dog.

When I was a kid I would tug on my dads shirt tails till he coughed up the pocket change it took for that corn dog. I would stand in line with a big smile on my face, taking in the scents of that sweet corn bread as it came from the fryer, and then take a hold of that corn dog and make a complete mess with all the mustard I would slather on it before I chowed it down.

Ah those were the days my friend.

In my adulthood, I have learned that nothing is like carnival food from the comfort of your own home.

Plus I could save my waistline a bit and attempt to make it a touch healthier.

But just a touch.

This at home corndog can easily be made with store bought corn bread mix. My fav in a pinch is Miracle Maize. No other store bought mix compares. However I have added my favorite recipe if you feel so inclined to whip up a batch of the homemade stuff.

Mini Corn Dog Muffins 
(makes 30)

Mini Corn Dog Muffins

Yummy Mini Corn Dog Muffins by Heather!

Ingredients

  • 1 package of corn bread mix prepared according to the directions, or
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 package all beef hot dogs or polish sausage, cut into 30 even pieces (I like to pre pan-fry or grill them cool for added flavor.)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°F

Grease your mini muffin pan.

Mix sugar, honey, eggs, butter and buttermilk together in a large bowl.

Mix cornmeal, flour,baking soda, and salt together in a separate bowl

Add corn meal mix to buttermilk mixture and mix thoroughly. (Mixture will be slightly lumpy.)

Fill muffin tin 3/4 full. In the middle of each tin of corn bread mix place one piece of hot dog/polish sausage.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown on top.

Serve with mustard.

Enjoy your Carnival! And shop at Shindigz for all your Carnival Party Supplies!

Recipe by Heather Jurczyk, the sassy half of the duo that make up the cooking team of He Cooks She Cooks. They have a weakness for feel good, down to earth, amazingly tasty eats that almost always include the addition of beer.

From growing their own tomatoes to brewing their own beer, they like to cook from scratch as much as possible. They know what’s important. Love. Food. Beer. Visit He Cooks She Cooks for more recipes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,071 other followers

